ASTRA
contemporary art gallery
ASTRA
Open callUp to 60 000ArtistsStatementCollaboration
ASTRA
RU            

solo show Игоря Литвинова

«EXISTENCE OF LIGHT»

06.09 — 18.10

Winzavod Contemporary Art Center, 4 Syromyatnichesky Lane, 1/8, building 9, entrance 22

"Igor Litvinov's work is at the cutting edge of the problem of overcoming the personal emotional element for the sake of entering the open space of absolute pictorial freedom. The method chosen by the artist is not just to show the obvious inferiority of "reality", but to contrast the absurdity of what is happening in the material world with the transcendental chaos in which absolute pain reigns. The fractured, distorted, deliberately caricatured human characters are presented in combination with tragic, anxiously expressive, extremely tense abstract background.
Yet this seemingly natural stylistic unity in Litvinov's canvases visibly transforms into a mysterious counterpoint, a polyphonic chord which paradoxically unites mercilessness and compassion, the bottomlessness of infernal spaces and the saving will to light, despair and hope, hell and purgatory. Capturing the drama (or comedy, in the Dantean interpretation) of unity and opposition to everything, the artist's optics nevertheless has the gift of penetrating into the abstract-concrete nature of space-time, including appeals to the oldest cultural codes and mythologemes. Igor Litvinov makes extensive use of the metaphysical plastic of the archaic as a means of purifying oneself from the dictates of linear logic and common sense in order to achieve the sacred ecstasy of clairvoyance, allowing the viewer to be led through the backside labyrinths of otherworldliness in order to prepare him for the cataclysms to come.
Igor Litvinov considers art and in particular the sacrament of picture-making to be an endless mystery without beginning or end, in which, once and for all, the artist breaks off all contact with anything and becomes wholly absorbed in the magical ritual as an irrational element of the unpredictable. A succession of seemingly wild, barbaric images born with his brush and temperament is shaped into a kind of pictorial action akin to shamanic rises and plunges into parallel worlds. As a result, the disturbing, stinging, impetuously aggressive, lethal strokes are transformed into an epic symphony of volcanic magma, the ideal building material of the end times.

Each canvas by Igor Litvinov is another radical experiment, a leap into the abyss, the madness of a brave professional who sacrifices his own spiritual-body existentialism, and, as an apotheosis, a furious dissection of reality designed to signify and confirm the artistic will of the author who in his own way manifests the eternal relevance of expressionism for the present and the future". Igor Dudinsky, art critic

Litvinov Igor

Igor Litvinov was born in 1962 in Vitebsk, a city which is one of the centers of classical avant-garde, where Chagall, Malevich, Lisitsky and other representatives of this trend lived and created. This determined the creative path of the author, who works in the style of abstract expressionism.

Igor Litvinov was born in 1962 in Vitebsk, a city which is one of the centers of classical avant-garde, where Chagall, Malevich, Lisitsky and other representatives of this trend lived and created. This determined the creative path of the author, who works in the style of abstract expressionism.

From 1983 to 1988 Litvinov studied at the Art and Graphic Department of Vitebsk State Pedagogical University.

At the end of the 1980s, he began attending the studio of Alexander Solovyov, the oldest abstractionist in Belarus. The relationship between the master and his pupil grew into a great friendship. It was this communication that laid the foundation on which Igor Litvinov's own style was formed. 

From 1995 to 2017 Igor Litvinov lived in Nazareth, Israel. During this period the artist worked and exhibited a lot in different countries: Spain, Sweden, USA, etc. 

In 2005, at the MoRA Museum in New Jersey, he took part in an exhibition devoted to Malevich, where works by Malevich and many nonconformists from Russia were on display.

Together with his creative work, his spiritual worldview is formed. Years of research into the phenomenon of personal freedom, the relationship between personal and creative freedom, the relationship between religion and contemporary art - all this is the basis of the artist's paintings.

Since 2017 Igor Litvinov lives and works in Moscow, is active in creative work, exhibiting in leading art spaces.

The works are in the collections of the Museum of Russian Art (New Jersey, USA), the Nesterov Bashkir State Art Museum (Ufa, Russia) and private collections in Russia and abroad. The works are in the collections of the M.I. Nesterov Bashkir State Art Museum (Ufa, Russia), Vitebsk Center of Contemporary Art (Vitebsk, Belarus) as well as in private collections in Russia and abroad.

SELECTED GROUP AND SOLO EXHIBITIONS:

  • 2022 - St. Petersburg Art Fair "1703", a-s-t-r-a gallery, Manezh Central Exhibition Hall, St. Petersburg
  • 2022 - Art Moscow Program at the 48th Russian Antique Salon, a-s-t-r-a gallery. Gostiny Dvor, Moscow
  • 2021 - ARTSUMMER, Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow, Russia
  • 2020 - Personal Expressionism exhibition, Antique Center, Moscow
  • 2020 - NEW REALITY. To the 100th anniversary of UNOVIS, Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow, Russia
  • 2019 - 5th ANTIBIENNALE, Central House of Artists, Moscow
  • 2019 - 4th rencontre arts plastiques de Mesnil-Église, Belgium
  • 2019 - "Litvinov and Friends", Gostiny Dvor, Moscow
  • 2019 - 4th ANTIBIENNALE, Central House of Artists, Moscow
  • 2018 - 3rd ANTIBIENNALE, Central House of Artists, Moscow
  • 2018 - 2nd ANTIBIENNALE, Central House of Artists, Moscow
  • 2018 - "Brutal tenderness" personal exhibition, Central House of Artists, Moscow
  • 2017 - "Four Stories", Central House of Artists, Moscow
  • 2017 - "Free Space", Central House of Artists, Moscow
  • 2017 - 1st ANTIBIENNALE, Central House of Artists, Moscow
  • 2017 - "ART-UFA", Ufa
  • 2016 - Art Space, Vitebsk, Belarus
  • 2015 - Center for Contemporary Art, Vitebsk, Belarus
  • 2012 - Mika Gallery, Tel Aviv, Israel
  • 2010 - En-Hod Gallery, Haifa, Israel
  • 2009 - Tsarskoselskaya Collection Museum, St. Petersburg
  • 2009 - Volga Gallery, Moscow
  • 2006 - Teatron, Haifa, Israel
  • 2005 - MoRA Museum of Russian Art, New Jersey, USA
  • 2004 - Gallery Agora, New York, USA
  • 2003 - Bunker Gallery, Stockholm, Sweden
  • 2002 - Pyramida Gallery Haifa, Israel
  • 2001 - Castro Gallery, Haifa, Israel
  • 2000 - Angel Gallery, Tel Aviv, Israel
  • 1998 - Zafon Gallery, Haifa, Israel
  • 1998 - Art Expo, Barcelona, Spain.
  • 1997 - En-Hod Gallery, Haifa, Israel.
  • 1993 - Center of Contemporary Art, Vitebsk, Belarus
  • 1991 - Center of Marc Chagall, Vitebsk, Belarus

"Igor Litvinov's art is at the cutting edge of the problem of overcoming the personal emotional element for the sake of entering the open space of absolute pictorial freedom. The method chosen by the artist is not simply to show the obvious inferiority of "reality," but to contrast the absurdity of what is happening in the material world with the transcendental chaos in which absolute pain reigns. The fractured, distorted, deliberately caricatured human characters are presented in combination with a tragic, anxiously expressive, extremely tense abstract background.

However, this seemingly natural stylistic unity in Litvinov's canvases turns into a mysterious counterpoint - a polyphonic chord paradoxically combining ruthlessness and compassion, bottomless infernal spaces and the saving will to light, hopelessness and hope, hell and purgatory. Fixing the drama (or comedy - but in the Dantean interpretation) of unity and opposition of everything to everything, the artist's optics nevertheless has the gift of penetrating into the abstract-concrete nature of space-time, including through an appeal to the oldest cultural codes and mythologemes. Igor Litvinov actively uses the metaphysical plasticity of the archaic as a means of self-purification from the dictates of linear logic and common sense in order to achieve the sacred ecstasy of clairvoyance, allowing him to guide the viewer through the inferior labyrinths of otherworldliness in order to prepare him for the coming cataclysms.

Igor Litvinov considers art and especially the mystery of painting to be an endless mystery without beginning or end, once and for all, in which the artist breaks off all contact with anything and plunges completely into the magical ritual as an irrational element of the unpredictable. A succession of seemingly wild, barbaric images born with his brush and temperament is shaped into a kind of pictorial action akin to shamanic rises and plunges into parallel worlds. As a result, the disturbing, stinging, impetuously aggressive and lethal strokes are transformed into an epic symphony of volcanic magma, the ideal building material of the end times.

Each canvas by Igor Litvinov is another radical experiment, a leap into the abyss, the madness of a brave professional who sacrifices his own spiritual and bodily existence, and, as an apotheosis, a furious dissection of reality, designed to indicate and confirm the artistic will of the author, who in his own way manifests the eternal relevance of expressionism for today and for tomorrow". Igor Dudinsky, art critic

 



Works


Большая прогулка
SoldИнфанта
Литвинов Игорь

Инфанта, 2020

Mixed media on canvas
180 х 132 см
Ночь
Литвинов Игорь

Ночь, 2021

Canvas, acryl
183 х 170 см
Buy in 1 click
I hereby confirm that I have read and agree to the terms of the Public Offer and the Privacy Policy.

ASTRA
галерея современного искусства
ASTRA
EN            

solo show Игоря Литвинова

a-s-t-r-a gallery х Игорь Литвинов
Выставка: «Existence of light»

06.09 — 02.10

ЦСИ «Винзавод», 4-й Сыромятнический пер., 1/8, стр. 9, подъезд 22

"Творчество Игоря Литвинова находится на острие проблемы преодоления личностной эмоциональной стихии ради выхода в открытый космос абсолютной живописной свободы. Метод, выбранный художником, призван не просто показать заведомую ущербность «реальности», а противопоставить абсурд происходящего в материальном мире трансцендентному хаосу, в котором царствует абсолютная боль. Изломанные, искаженные, заведомое окарикатуренные человеческие персонажи поданы в сочетании с трагичным, беспокойно-экспрессивным, предельно напряженным абстрактным фоном.
Однако такое, казалось бы, естественное стилистическое единство на холстах Литвинова на глазах превращается в загадочный контрапункт – полифонический аккорд, парадоксально соединяющий безжалостность и сострадание, бездонность инфернальных пространств и спасительную волю к свету, безысходность и надежду, ад и чистилище. Фиксируя драму (или комедию – но в дантовском толковании) единства и противостояния всего всему, оптика художника тем не менее обладает даром проникать в абстрактно-конкретную природу пространства-времени – в том числе через апелляцию к древнейшим культурным кодам и мифологемам. Игорь Литвинов активно использует метафизическую пластику архаики как способ самоочищения от диктата линейной логики и здравого смысла во имя достижения священного экстаза ясновидения, позволяющего провести зрителя по изнаночным лабиринтам инобытия, чтобы подготовить к встрече с предстоящими катаклизмами.
Игорь Литвинов считает искусство, а в особенности таинство создания картин – бесконечной мистерией, не имеющей начала и конца, однажды и навсегда попав в которую, художник обрывает любые контакты с чем бы то ни было и целиком погружается в магический ритуал – как иррациональную стихию непредсказуемого. Череда рожденных его кистью и темпераментом, на первый взгляд, диких, варварских образов оформляется в некое живописное действо – сродни шаманским взлётам и погружениям в параллельные миры. В результате тревожные, жалящие, стремительно-агрессивные, разящие наповал мазки превращаются в эпическую симфонию вулканической магмы – идеального строительного материала последних времен.

Каждый холст Игоря Литвинова – это очередной радикальный эксперимент, прыжок в бездну, безумство храбреца-профессионала, приносящего в жертву собственную духовно-телесную экзистенцию, и – как апофеоз – яростное препарирование реальности, призванное обозначить и утвердить художественную волю автора, по-своему манифестирующего вечную актуальность экспрессионизма для дня сегодняшнего и завтрашнего." Игорь Дудинский, арт критик

Литвинов Игорь

Игорь Литвинов родился в 1962 году в Витебске, городе, который является одним из очагов классического авангарда, где жили и творили Шагал, Малевич, Лисицкий и другие представители этого направления. Это и определило творческий путь автора, который работает в стиле абстрактного экспрессионизма. 

Игорь Литвинов родился в 1962 году в Витебске, городе, который является одним из очагов классического авангарда, где жили и творили Шагал, Малевич, Лисицкий и другие представители этого направления. Это и определило творческий путь автора, который работает в стиле абстрактного экспрессионизма. 

С 1983 по 1988 год Литвинов учился на художественно-графическом факультете Витебского Государственного педагогического университета.

В конце 80-х гг начал посещать мастерскую Александра Соловьёва, старейшего абстракциониста Белоруссии. Отношения мастера и ученика со временем переросли в большую дружбу. Именно это общение заложило фундамент, на основе которого сформировался собственный стиль Игоря Литвинова. 

С 1995 по 2017 год Игорь Литвинов прожил в Назарете (Израиль). В этот период художник много работал и выставлялся в разных странах: Испания, Швеция, США и т.д. 

В 2005 году в музее MOra в Нью Джерси принял участие в выставке, посвященной Малевичу, где были представлены работы и самого Малевича, и многих нонконформистов из России.

Вместе с творческой деятельностью формируется его духовное мировоззрение. Многолетнее исследование феномена свободы личности, взаимоотношений личной и творческой свободы, взаимоотношений религии и современного искусства - всё это является основой картин художника.

С 2017 года Игорь Литвинов живет и работает в Москве, ведет активную творческую деятельность, выставляется на ведущих арт-пространствах.

Произведения находятся в коллекциях Музея русского искусства MoRA (Нью-Джерси, США), Башкирского государственного художественного музея  им. М.И. Нестерова (Уфа, Россия), Витебского центра современного искусства (Витебск, Беларусь) а также в частных коллекция в России и зарубежом.

ИЗБРАННЫЕ ГРУППОВЫЕ И ПЕРСОНАЛЬНЫЕ ВЫСТАВКИ:

  • 2022 — Existence of light, галерея a-s-t-r-a, ЦС Винзавод, Москва
  • 2022 — Санкт-Петербургская ярмарка искусства «1703», a-s-t-r-a gallery, Манеж, Санкт-Петербург
  • 2022 — Коллективное самосбывающееся пророчество о нашем прекрасном завтра, галерея a-s-t-r-a, Винзавод, Москва;
  • 2022 — Программа Арт Москва в рамках 48 Российского атикварного салона,  a-s-t-r-a gallery. Гостиный двор, Москва
  • 2021 — ARTSUMMER, Третьяковская галерея, Москва, Россия
  • 2020 — Персональная выставка «Персональный экспрессионизм», Антикварный центр, Москва
  • 2020 — НОВАЯ РЕАЛНОСТЬ. К 100-летию УНОВИС, Третьяковская галерея, Москва
  • 2019 —  5-я ANTIBIENNALE, ЦДХ, Москва
  • 2019 —  4e rencontre arts plastiques de Mesnil-Église, Бельгия
  • 2019 — «Литвинов и друзья», Гостиный двор, Москва
  • 2019 — 4-я ANTIBIENNALE, ЦДХ, Москва
  • 2018 — 3-я ANTIBIENNALE, ЦДХ, Москва
  • 2018 — 2-я ANTIBIENNALE, ЦДХ, Москва
  • 2018 — «Брутальная нежность» персональная выставка, ЦДХ, Москва
  • 2017 — «Четыре истории», ЦДХ, Москва
  • 2017 — «Свободное пространство», ЦДХ, Москва
  • 2017 — 1-я ANTIBIENNALE, ЦДХ, Москва
  • 2017 — «АРТ-УФА», Уфа
  • 2016 — «Арт-пространство», Витебск, Беларусь
  • 2015 — Центр современного искусства, Витебск, Беларусь
  • 2012 — Галерея «Mika», Тель-Авив, Израиль
  • 2010 — Галерея «En-Hod», Хайфа, Израиль
  • 2009 — Музей «Царскосельская коллекция», Санкт-Петербург
  • 2009 — Галерея «Волга», Москва
  • 2006 — Teatron, Хайфа, Израиль
  • 2005 — Музей русского искусства MoRA, Нью-Джерси, США
  • 2004 — Галерея «Agora», Нью-Йорк, США
  • 2003 — Галерея «Bunker», Стокгольм, Швеция
  • 2002 — Галерея «Pyramida» Хайфа, Израиль
  • 2001 — Галерея «Castro», Хайфа, Израиль
  • 2000 — Галерея «Angel», Тель-Авив, Израиль
  • 1998 — Галерея «Zafon», Хайфа, Израиль
  • 1998 — «Арт-Экспо», Барселона, Испания
  • 1997 — Галерея «En-Hod», Хайфа, Израиль
  • 1993 — Центр современного искусства, Витебск, Беларусь
  • 1991 — Центр Марка Шагала, Витебск, Беларусь

"Творчество Игоря Литвинова находится на острие проблемы преодоления личностной эмоциональной стихии ради выхода в открытый космос абсолютной живописной свободы. Метод, выбранный художником, призван не просто показать заведомую ущербность «реальности», а противопоставить абсурд происходящего в материальном мире трансцендентному хаосу, в котором царствует абсолютная боль. Изломанные, искаженные, заведомое окарикатуренные человеческие персонажи поданы в сочетании с трагичным, беспокойно-экспрессивным, предельно напряженным абстрактным фоном.
Однако такое, казалось бы, естественное стилистическое единство на холстах Литвинова на глазах превращается в загадочный контрапункт – полифонический аккорд, парадоксально соединяющий безжалостность и сострадание, бездонность инфернальных пространств и спасительную волю к свету, безысходность и надежду, ад и чистилище. Фиксируя драму (или комедию – но в дантовском толковании) единства и противостояния всего всему, оптика художника тем не менее обладает даром проникать в абстрактно-конкретную природу пространства-времени – в том числе через апелляцию к древнейшим культурным кодам и мифологемам. Игорь Литвинов активно использует метафизическую пластику архаики как способ самоочищения от диктата линейной логики и здравого смысла во имя достижения священного экстаза ясновидения, позволяющего провести зрителя по изнаночным лабиринтам инобытия, чтобы подготовить к встрече с предстоящими катаклизмами.
Игорь Литвинов считает искусство, а в особенности таинство создания картин – бесконечной мистерией, не имеющей начала и конца, однажды и навсегда попав в которую, художник обрывает любые контакты с чем бы то ни было и целиком погружается в магический ритуал – как иррациональную стихию непредсказуемого. Череда рожденных его кистью и темпераментом, на первый взгляд, диких, варварских образов оформляется в некое живописное действо – сродни шаманским взлётам и погружениям в параллельные миры. В результате тревожные, жалящие, стремительно-агрессивные, разящие наповал мазки превращаются в эпическую симфонию вулканической магмы – идеального строительного материала последних времен.

Каждый холст Игоря Литвинова – это очередной радикальный эксперимент, прыжок в бездну, безумство храбреца-профессионала, приносящего в жертву собственную духовно-телесную экзистенцию, и – как апофеоз – яростное препарирование реальности, призванное обозначить и утвердить художественную волю автора, по-своему манифестирующего вечную актуальность экспрессионизма для дня сегодняшнего и завтрашнего." Игорь Дудинский, арт критик

 



Работы


Большая прогулка
Литвинов Игорь

Большая прогулка, 2021

Холст, смешанная техника
186 х 145 см
Инфанта
Литвинов Игорь

Инфанта, 2020

Холст, смешанная техника
180 х 132 см
Старый мост в Полоцке
Литвинов Игорь

Старый мост в Полоцке, 2018

Холст, смешанная техника
150 х 200 см
Ночь
Литвинов Игорь

Ночь, 2021

Холст, акрил
183 х 170 см
Купить в 1 клик
Настоящим подтверждаю, что я ознакомлен и согласен с условиями Публичной оферты и Политики конфиденциальности.